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2014
Research on 

policy options 

for long-term 

care

2019
Legislature 

passes LTSS 

Trust Act and 

governor 

signs into law

2022
Legislature 

adds pathway 

to partial 

benefits for 

near-retirees, 

establishes 

voluntary 

exemptions for 

certain groups

2023
July 1 

Workers begin 

contributing

2025
Legislature 

creates 

supplemental 

private insurance 

market, gives 

workers with 

private insurance 

exemptions 

window to join 

WA Cares 

2026
July 1

Benefits become 

available for 

qualified, eligible 

individuals

Program timeline

2024
Legislature 

gives workers 

the ability to 

take their 

benefit out of 

state



41%
have no pension or 

401(k)/IRA savings

Another 42%
have no pension & only 

enough 401(k)/IRA savings 

to replace 10% of their 

pre-retirement income

AMONG WASHINGTON WORKERS AGE 55-645

Many need help paying for long-term care

$56,000/year
Median household income for Washington seniors4



Impact of family caregiving

Almost half
of family caregivers report a 

related financial setback7

$303,880
average lost wages and 

benefits for caregivers 50+ 

who leave workforce early8

25% 
Average amount of their 

own income caregivers 

spend on related expenses7

2 in 3
working caregivers say a 

program that pays 

caregivers would help9



How WA Cares works

• Earned benefit 

• Nearly all Washington workers 

contribute

• Meet contribution requirement + 

care needs requirement

• Works like an insurance program

• Everyone covered at same rate 

regardless of pre-existing 

conditions

$36,500
Lifetime maximum benefit 

(adjusted annually up to 

inflation)

Benefits available

JULY 1,

2026

Benefits

0.58%
Amount workers 

contribute from wages

Contributions

JULY 1,

2023

Contributions began



Contribution requirement

People born 

before 1968 earn 

10% of benefit amount 

for each year worked

Contributed at least

10 years 

Lifetime access 

to full benefit

Lifetime access 

to partial benefit

FOR NEAR-RETIREES

To earn benefits, must work at least 500 hours per year (about 10 hours per week)

Early access 

to full benefit

Contributed at least

3 of the last 6 years 

at the time you apply 

for benefits  

30% of 
full benefit 
amount



Care needs requirement

Mobility

Getting from one place to another within 
your immediate environment and from 
outside your home to inside your home. 

Transferring

Moving between surfaces such as to and 
from a bed, a chair, wheelchair or 
standing position.

Bed mobility

Moving to and from a lying position, turning 
side-to-side and positioning your body while 
in bed, in a recliner or other furniture used 
for sleeping.

Eating

How you eat and drink, including any method of 
receiving nutrition by mouth, tube or through a 
vein. It does not include any set-up help 
received.

Medication management

Organizing and taking prescription 
medications, over the counter medications or 
supplements.

Bathing

Washing your body, including showers, baths, 
sponge baths or bed baths. Getting into and 
out of a shower or bathtub.

Toileting

How you use a toilet, commode, bedpan, or urinal 
to eliminate, and how you transfer on and off a 
toilet, perform associated hygiene and adjust 
clothing.

Must need help with 3 activities of daily living for at least 90 days.



Taking WA Cares 

benefits out of state
• In 2024, a law was passed to allow 

workers to use their benefit outside 

Washington

• Starting in July 2026, workers can 
choose to continue participating in 
WA Cares if they move out of state

• Must have contributed to WA Cares 
for at least 3 years (working 500+ 
hours per year) and must opt in 
within a year of leaving WA

• Like other workers, out-of-state 
participants keep contributing during 
working years

• Benefits available starting July 2030



Expanding long-term care support

Program updates Effective date

Creating supplemental private long-term care insurance May 1, 2026*

Opportunity for exempt workers to participate January 1, 2026

Simplifying 10-year contribution requirement January 1, 2026

Automating exemptions for non-immigrant visa holders January 1, 2026

Creating an optional exemption for active-duty service members 

working civilian jobs in Washington 
January 1, 2026

*This is the date that Office of the Insurance Commission is required to complete rulemaking not the date policies will 

be available.



Cross agency responsibilities

• Process applications

• Perform care needs 

assessments 

& determine eligibility

• Manage providers 

• Collect premiums and

wage reports

• Determine vesting status

• Process exemptions

• Process requests from 

self-employed individuals 

opting in

• Pay providers

• Track benefit usage

DSHS
[Lead Agency]

ESD

HCA

STATE

ACTUARY

• Provide actuarial 

analysis to assess 

ongoing Trust Fund 

solvency



Becoming a WA Cares provider

Step 1

Apply & meet minimum 
qualifications

Step 2

Contract with DSHS or 
AAA

Step 3
DSHS issues your 
registration

Depending on service and location, DSHS or an Area Agency on Aging may be 

responsible for:

• Processing applications

• Managing contracts 

• Monitoring providers

DSHS has sole responsibility for registration and termination of registration



Covered services

• Adaptive equipment & technology

• Adult family home

• Assisted living facility

• Care transition coordination

• In-home personal care and respite care with 

Consumer Direct Care Washington (CDWA) 

• Individual providers 

• Memory care (in assisted living facility)

• Nursing home

• Professional services , specifically nurse 

delegation & private duty nursing

• Respite care in an adult family home, assisted 

living facility, or nursing home. 

• Adult day services (adult day care, adult day 

health)

• Dementia and behavioral support (community-

based)

• Education and consultation

• Environmental modification

• Home delivered meals

• Home safety evaluation

• In-home personal care and respite care with 

home care agencies

• Personal emergency response system (PERS)

• Professional services, specifically skilled nursing

• Services that assist paid and unpaid caregivers, 

specifically: 

• Housework and errands

• Yard work and snow removal

• Transportation

DSHS-contracted AAA-contracted

DSHS holds contracts for all providers who serve the entire state



Provider application detail documents

For each service:

• Service definition

• Minimum qualifications

• Example client service contract 

• Documentation you need to apply

wacaresfund.wa.gov/providers/toolkit



Application process

• Apply through online form – no paper application

• Routed to appropriate agency to process

• Be ready to respond quickly to requests for more info from DSHS or AAA
▪ Must submit within 30 calendar days or application may be denied

• Can withdraw at any time

• Contact info available to request assistance

Application form goes live Oct. 1, 2025



If application is denied

• Administrative hearing rights to appeal

• Will receive information along with determination notice on application

• May be able to reapply depending on reason for denial

• Permanent disqualifiers include:
▪ Failed background checks with barred offenses or substantiated findings

▪ Contracts terminated for cause



Contracting and registration

• Next step after application approved

• Will receive new client service contract 

for signature 

• Contract length is either 2 or 4 years 

depending on service 

▪ Services with standard 4-year contract –
can sign 2-year instead

▪ Can’t extend if standard is 2 years

• Officially a registered provider once 

contract is complete

• Must have valid contract to be registered 

• Removed if contract terminated/ends

• Automatically added to WA Cares 

Provider Directory

Contracting Registration



Requirements for registration

You must:

• Comply with all service specific statutes and rules (federal, state, local)

• Comply with background check requirements  

• Meet minimum qualifications (must hold all current licenses, credentials, 
certifications, trainings, and other requirements for your service type)

• Meet insurance requirements (aligned with Medicaid) 

• Not have a contract terminated with DSHS for cause/default



WA Cares Provider Directory

• No case managers—beneficiaries find and contact providers

• Online WA Cares Provider Directory

▪ Hosted by CLC

• Your listing includes:

▪ Your name

▪ Service(s) you provide

▪ Your contact information 

▪ Additional languages you offer



Rates

• Beneficiaries and providers agree to terms and rate

• We pay within your usual, customary and reasonable rate range up to maximum rate 

for that service—currently in rulemaking

• DSHS will maintain a rate sheet



ProviderOne

• Use for pre-authorizations and claims for payment

• Will receive enrollment packet after contract completed

• Do not need to re-enroll if you have an account



Pre-authorizations

Cannot begin providing/billing until approved

• You must discuss rates/services with beneficiary before drafting pre-authorization

• You draft pre-authorization in ProviderOne

• Beneficiary receives notification in their WA Cares account

▪ 30 days to take action on a pre-authorization

▪ Must resubmit if no action taken

Pre-authorization length

• Good for up to 90 days, except for: 

▪ Care transition coordination: up to 60 days

▪ Environmental modifications: up to 6 months

• To continue services after, submit new pre-authorization



Claims for payment

• Submit in ProviderOne for processing

• Must submit clean claim by 60 calendar days from 

end date of pre-authorization

• Claims submitted after this deadline will be denied 

and funds will return to beneficiary’s balance

97%
97% submitted 

within 60 days of service



Current provider rulemaking topics

• Approved service definitions

• Requirements to provide approved services

• Payment and reimbursement for approved services

• Administrative hearings

• Provider registration and termination of provider registration

• Notice of department determinations

Status and draft rules: wacaresfund.wa.gov/rulemaking  

Sign up for our newsletter (select rulemaking)

https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/WADSHSALTSA/signup/38980


Pilot

Timeline and location

• Jan. 6 , 2026

• Only in Lewis, Mason, Thurston, Spokane counties

• If you choose to be a statewide provider, you can participate in the pilot areas

Pilot providers

• Oct. 1, 2025: Prioritized for processing when application opens

• Jan. 6, 2026: Can begin providing services

Other providers

• Start services in July 2026



Major milestones

Application opens 
for all providers

Pilot in Lewis, 
Mason, Thurston, 

Spokane counties

Beneficiaries can 
begin applying 

for benefits

All providers can 
begin services

OCTOBER 
2025

JAN 
2026

MAY 
2026

JULY 
2026



Questions & answers



Email updates

• WA Cares email newsletter
with monthly updates, 

event announcements, 

notifications when new 
resources are available. 

Join the provider 

information subset to 

receive communications 

specifically for providers.

https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/WADSHSALTSA/signup/38980


How did we do?
We value your feedback! Please 
take a few minutes to share your 
thoughts about today’s presentation 
by completing a short survey. 



Thank you

Find webinar materials at wacaresfund.wa.gov/webinars

Follow us on Facebook, Instagram, and LinkedIn

Contact us by email

wacaresfund.wa.gov/

contact-us

Contact us by phone 

(employers & exemptions)
833-717- 2273

Contact us by phone 

(other questions)

844-CARE4WA

https://wacaresfund.wa.gov/webinars
https://lnks.gd/l/eyJhbGciOiJIUzI1NiJ9.eyJidWxsZXRpbl9saW5rX2lkIjoxMDUsInVyaSI6ImJwMjpjbGljayIsImJ1bGxldGluX2lkIjoiMjAyMzAyMDEuNzA3ODA0NjEiLCJ1cmwiOiJodHRwczovL3d3dy5mYWNlYm9vay5jb20vV0FDYXJlc0Z1bmQvP3V0bV9tZWRpdW09ZW1haWwmdXRtX3NvdXJjZT1nb3ZkZWxpdmVyeSJ9.6TOWSPhxJSuo7MoFtG2W2TyR-cWFh5Z5upe7_L86J-0/s/1818567632/br/153749228636-l
https://lnks.gd/l/eyJhbGciOiJIUzI1NiJ9.eyJidWxsZXRpbl9saW5rX2lkIjoxMDYsInVyaSI6ImJwMjpjbGljayIsImJ1bGxldGluX2lkIjoiMjAyMzAyMDEuNzA3ODA0NjEiLCJ1cmwiOiJodHRwczovL3d3dy5pbnN0YWdyYW0uY29tL3dhY2FyZXNmdW5kLz91dG1fbWVkaXVtPWVtYWlsJnV0bV9zb3VyY2U9Z292ZGVsaXZlcnkifQ.vk0AE0sig1te_eI36fitQY9dvRX2rREPgrjMLqOKun0/s/1818567632/br/153749228636-l
https://lnks.gd/l/eyJhbGciOiJIUzI1NiJ9.eyJidWxsZXRpbl9saW5rX2lkIjoxMDcsInVyaSI6ImJwMjpjbGljayIsImJ1bGxldGluX2lkIjoiMjAyMzAyMDEuNzA3ODA0NjEiLCJ1cmwiOiJodHRwczovL3d3dy5saW5rZWRpbi5jb20vY29tcGFueS83MzA3MzMyNy8_dXRtX21lZGl1bT1lbWFpbCZ1dG1fc291cmNlPWdvdmRlbGl2ZXJ5In0.kspexMRTu_NVNrP04COsIBkIq5L1XNHFQ18qwpcWEks/s/1818567632/br/153749228636-l
https://wacaresfund.wa.gov/contact-us/
https://wacaresfund.wa.gov/contact-us/

	Slide 1
	Slide 2
	Slide 3
	Slide 4
	Slide 5
	Slide 6
	Slide 7
	Slide 8
	Slide 9
	Slide 10: Cross agency responsibilities
	Slide 11
	Slide 12
	Slide 13
	Slide 14
	Slide 15
	Slide 16
	Slide 17
	Slide 18
	Slide 19
	Slide 20
	Slide 21
	Slide 22
	Slide 23
	Slide 24
	Slide 25
	Slide 26
	Slide 27
	Slide 28
	Slide 29: Thank you

